What is the NCLEX Exam?

nclex exam

The National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX) is the standard test every state board of nursing uses to figure out if a candidate is prepared for entry-level nursing practice. The NCLEX tests are created and owned by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc. You can apply to take the NCLEX exam once you have graduated from nursing school.

Registering for the NCLEX Exam

To take the NCLEX exam, you first need to apply for a nursing license from your respective state board of nursing. After the board determines if you are eligible to take the test, you must register to take the NCLEX exam.

NCLEX Exam Information and Cost

According to the National Council of State Boards of Nursing, the NCLEX exam will test your knowledge of four primary categories. These categories are:

  • Safe, Effective Care Environment
  • Psychosocial Integrity
  • Health Promotion and Maintenance
  • Physiological Integrity

Within each category is a set of subcategories. For example, within “Safe, Effective Care Environment” are the subcategories “Management of Care” and “Safety and Infection Control”, while “Coping and Adaptation” and “Psychosocial Adaptation” are the subcategories within “Psychosocial Integrity”.

The NCLEX exam is a multiple choice test and uses the Computerized Adaptive Testing interactive system to determine your level of competence. RN candidates will face a minimum of 75 questions, while LPN candidates will answer a minimum of 85 questions.

The test is first scored by the computer in which you take it. The National Council’s service will then score it a second time. You will have to wait about a month to learn the results. In the event that you fail the NCLEX exam, you must wait at least 91 days before you can retake it. There is no limit on the amount of times you can retake the NCLEX exam.

It costs $200.00 to take the NCLEX exam.